Evart track boys first at Lakeview meet

LAKEVIEW — Evart’s boys track and field team captured the Wildcat Invitational on Friday at Lakeview High School.

The Wildcats accumulated 153 points to take the boys division, while Morley Stanwood finished thired with 96 points.

David Zinger took first in the 1,600 (4:42.46) while Max Hodges finished second (4:45.13). Nate Struble finished third in the 100 meters (11.71). Zinger also took second in the 800 (2:09.99), while Santana Scott took first in the 3,200 (10:42.06). Larry VanBuren was second in the discus (114-3.5), Jacob Hopkins finished second in the high jump (6-2) and Dean Marsh was first in the shot put (43-7.5). Alex Newton took second in the 200 meters (23.1), while Rick Miller took first in the pole vault (13-6) and Chapman Long was third (12-0).

“I was really pleased, this was a nice win for us,”  said Evart coach Dennis Peacock. “There were eight teams and among them were Central Montcalm and Belding, who are Class B schools. I was actually pleased with our sprint relays.

“We had some decent times. That was really nice.”

Peacock has also been happy with his young runners.

“Santana Scott, a freshman, ran 10:42 in the 3,200,”Peacock said. “We were pleased with that.

Evart also got first place finishes from its 400 relay team (45.23) and 3200 relay (8:59.5), while its 1600 relay team took second (3:45.3).

For the girls teams, Evart got a second place finish from Tabitha Turley in the 100 hurdles (17.64); Mara VanOrder took third in the 1600 meters (6:03.09), third in the high jump (4-8) and second in the 400 (1:04.17); Jessica Tea took third in the 200 meters (28.24) and second in the high jump (4-10); Kirsten Parson was second in the shot put (31-4.5); and Kaitlyn Parson took third in the discus (86-2.5).

Evrat coach Amanda Langell also applauded her team and the efforts of Vanorder.

Evart over McBain NMC

EVART — Evart’s boys track team won in a dual April 30 with McBain NMC 141-19.

Winners for Evart included David Zinger, Dean Marsh, all four relay teams, Max Hodges, Logan Hammer, Jacob Hopkins, Rick Miller, Nate Struble and Alex Newton.

The girls also had a big day with a 98-49 victory.

Evart winners included Tabitha Turley, Grace hamitlon, Kaitlyn Parsons, Jessica Tea, Mara VanOrder, Kirsten Parsons and the 400-meter relay team.