NEWAYGO — Evart won the small school division for boys track and field at the Newaygo Invitational on Thursday with 134 points.

In the girls small school division, Evart was fourth.

Evart got a first place from Danny Griffin in the small school’s 100-meter dash (11.5 seconds). Kyle Stokes won the 200 meters (23.22), Josh Woods was third in the 800 meters (2:08.51), the 400-meter relay of Cody Pritchard, Scott Martin, Stokes and Griffin was first (46:32). Pritchard, Martin, Stokes and Griffin were first in the 800 relay (1:36.52). Nathan and Josh Woods, Austin Hamilton and Andrew Booher were first (8:57.28) in the 3,200 relay. Ben Randall and Martin were one-two in the high jump at 6-foot-0. Zolan Long won the pole vault (10-0). Randall won the long jump (19-9).

“We ran our best time of the year in the 400 relay,” Evart coach Dennis Peacock said. “Kyle Stokes, a sophomore, I have no idea how fast he’ll go when it gets warm. Randall continues to jump well. I was tickled this early in the season to run as well as we did.”

For the Evart girls, Brooke Belleville was second in the 100 meters (13.59) and second in the 200 meters (28.60). Macey Wallace was third in the 200 meters (29.35) and 400 meters (1:08.22). Sarah Nelson was fourth in the 3,200 meters (14:05.52). Ariana Mooney was fourth in the 100-meter hurdles (21.31). Madison Parish was third in the pole vault (7-0). Wallace was third in the long jump (14-1).

“We had three first-time medalists,” Wildcat coach Todd Scott said. “They never got a medal before.”

He was referring to the 3,200 relay team which took first place. The first-time medalists were Rose Clark, Kimberly Morone, Jordon Gillis and Sarah Nelson.

“That was exciting for me as a coach to see those girls get their first medal,” Scott said. “They fought for it. It was not just handed to them.”