REMUS -- The regular season came to a close on Thursday night with a non-conference meeting between Chippewa Hills and Evart, as the Wildcats emerged victorious 70-39 at Chippewa Hills High School.

With the win, Evart's regular season comes to a close with the Wildcats riding a brief two-game winning streak and they will end the year in fifth place in the Highland Conference standings.

The Warriors finish their season at the bottom of the standings in the CSAA Gold Conference.

Chippewa Hills grabbed the lead in the game's early stages and was the benefactor of Evart's aggressive defensive style of play, landing in the bonus before the first quarter finished.

Through eight minutes of basketball, the Warriors trailed 15-12, but momentum was gradually shifting toward the visiting side, setting the stage for a potentially high-scoring second frame.

The second quarter did prove to be a productive one on offense but only for Evart's boys.

Evart went into halftime leading 39-20 after a barrage of 3-pointers that made up a majority of the Wildcats' scoring in the second quarter.

In the second half, CH managed to find more open passing lanes en route to some more quality shots and scoring chances, but it did not translate to points on the scoreboard and Evart's lead reached 20 points with five minutes on the third-quarter clock.

As the fourth quarter drew closer, the Warriors resorted to throwing up 3-pointers on almost all of their offensive possessions but it didn't net them any points to dig themselves out of the hole.

With a healthy lead to their credit, the Wildcats were able to take a step back and facilitate their offense more and take some time off of the clock to go into the final quarter up 48-28.

Chippewa Hills' 2019-20 regular-season record will go in the books at 4-16 (1-13) and with the win, Evart puts a period on a 9-11 (5-11) campaign.

Scoring Line:

Evart: Donavin Reagan 22, Tony Hartsock 14, Justin Buckner 7, Cannan Morgan 6, Haidyn Simmer 6, Cameron Brasington 5, Nolan Theunick 4, Brayden Cass 3, Gavin Schooley 2, Kamden Darling 1.