Voters re-elect school board members

OSCEOLA COUNTY — Voters made their voices heard on Nov. 4 when it came to who they would like to see on local school boards.

Evart Public Schools

Three individuals, including incumbents Gerald Nichols and Karen Pylman and newcomer Ryan Hopkins, were elected to the EPS Board of Education. Nichols was the front runner with 1,287 votes, Pylman received 1,231 votes and Hopkins received 1,111 votes.

The members’ terms will end on Dec. 31, 2020.

Marion Public Schools

For the Marion Public Schools Board of Education, incumbents Alicia J. Michell and Greg Salisbury ran unopposed and were re-elected with 617 and 642 votes for two six-year terms.

Newcomers Ryan Raymond and Courtney Wilson also ran unopposed for two four-year terms and received 611 and 623 votes.

Pine River Area Schools

Current PRAS Board of Education members Terry Koetje and Ron Schalow ran unopposed and were re-elected, receiving 1,192 and 986 votes.

Reed City Area Public Schools

Two new members are joining Reed City Area Public Schools’ board. Out of 898 total votes, Craig Goodman (205) and Derrick Bookwalter (248) will be welcomed to the board, while Tricia Wirth (259), trustee, will maintain her position. Ed Raby (186), former vice president of the RCAPS Board of Education, lost his position.

Goodman’s wife, DeAnna Goodman, is principal of G.T. Norman Elementary School.

“I think new personalities bring new ideas,” said Tim Webster, RCAPS superintendent. “I don’t see anything of concern. I think the new people will do a nice job.”

Scott Ridderman, whose term ended, chose not to run again.

Herald Review Staff Writer Cortney Erndt also contributed to this article