Reed City elects two incumbents, two newcomers

Osceola County voters re-elect Crawford, turn down road repair millage

OSCEOLA COUNTY — Reed City voters elected incumbents Marlene Fatum and Dave Scharlow along with newcomers Karen McKinney and Roger Meinert to serve on the city council. The board of canvassers has certified Osceola County’s unofficial election results of the Nov. 7 General Election. Some 926 Reed City voters visited polls in the Nov. 6 General Election. Dave Scharlow, Marlene Fatum and Roger Meinert garnered 498, 481 and 472 votes and will serve four-year terms. Karen McKinney gained 408 votes and will serve a two-year term. The winners defeated incumbent Darlene Fuller and Joanne Flinton, who gained 378 and 286 votes, respectively. Scharlow, who will serve his fourth term on the council, said he trusts the voters have made the right decision. The position requires those who are community-minded, Scharlow said, and he intends to carry on the tradition of service to the city. Fatum said she is happy to be able to serve her city for another term. “I am excited and look forward to working with new council and city officials in moving Reed City ahead,” Fatum said. “Times are hard with all the cuts in revenues, but we need to continue to work within the budget while maintaining city services the best we can.” Fatum said she also looks forward to continuing work with the newly formed Reed City/Richmond Economic Development Committee, and encourages city residents to get involved in their community by serving on city boards and commissions. “Sign up for your interest at city hall. It is that easy,” Fatum said. “Call your council and representatives when you have questions or comments, go to council meetings and keep up on the business at hand.” Newcomer Roger Meinert is looking forward to serving on the council his father served on years ago. “The way he handled being on the council gave me good inspiration to run. I want to make all my decisions based on what I think is the best for the community. Community comes first. We’re here to serve the community,” Meinert said. “I’ll be looking to get our council back on track to meet the needs of the city, not personal agendas.” McKinney, who was raised in Reed City, and moved back to the area in 2006, said she is excited to serve her community in a new way. “I’m very happy to be on the council with the thought in mind that maybe we’ll be able to have a cohesive group and do some worthwhile things for the city,” McKinney said. “I’m happy to serve.” Flinton, who has served on the city council in the past, gave some advice for the new council. “Learn the city charter and the city ordinances, and follow the city charter,” she said. Fuller was unavailable for comment. In Osceola County as a whole, voters decided other races when they visited the polls for Tuesday’s General Election.
  • Voters selected incumbent Sheriff Jim Crawford to serve his fourth term in office, beating out Democrat challenger Richard Argue by garnering more than 70 percent of the county’s vote.
  • Incumbent Village of Hersey president John Calabrese defeated challengers Patricia Jacobs and Don Tyler with 104 votes to Jacobs’ 24 and Tyler’s 21.
  • In the race for Evart Township Supervisor, incumbent Republican Vicki Cushman defeated challenger Gary Churchill, who has no party affiliation. Cushman garnered 445 votes while Churchill gained 140.
  • In Hartwick Township, Republican challengers Jeffrey Neuman and Bill Davis beat out Democrat incumbent Burton Scott for and two trustee seats. Davis and Neuman gained 177 and 158 votes, respectively, while Scott gained 138.
  • Republican incumbents Doug Kanouse and Gary Wemple beat out Democrat challenger Ronald Boyer for two seats on the Osceola County Road Commission. As of 2 a.m. today, Kanouse had gained 42 percent of votes, Wemple earned 35 percent and Boyer garnered 22 percent.
  •  An Osceola County Road Commission millage which would have raised $686,268,525.00 for brining, maintenance and repairs to county roads was defeated by a vote of 56 percent to 43 percent, as of 2 a.m. today.
  • Incumbent county commissioners Tammy Stoner, Ron Sikkema, Alan Tiedt, Roger Elkins and Larry Emig ran unopposed as well as newcomers Jill Halladay and Pamela Wayne, who beat out incumbent challengers in the Primary Election. The commissioners will take their seats on Jan. 1, 2013 for two-year terms.
All other races in at the county, township, city and village level were uncontested.