Osceola Farm Bureau recognizes members

By Janet Schmidt

Osceola Co. Farm Bureau

OSCEOLA COUNTY — The Osceola County Farm Bureau recognized Mary Beth Lindquist and Summer Deline for their volunteer efforts with Ag in the Classroom (bringing agriculture to the classroom) at their county annual meeting held on Sept. 23.

Mary Beth Lindquist interacted with 973 students in the Pine River School District this past year with her Ag in the Classroom presentations, exposing students to many different aspects of agriculture. Summer Deline brought her farm animals to area schools for children to see and learn about farming. She also worked with Project RED (Rural Education Day) which is held at Gingrich Farms and Rose Lake Park every May.

Amy Martin was recognized on the county level for MFB’s Promoter of the Year in 2013. Her family has opened up their farm, Gingrich Meadows, for tours and is always willing to promote agriculture. Jerry Hoppes, Reed City High School Science teacher, was honored as Osceola County’s Ag Educator of the Year. Dan Lee, Farm Bureau Insurance agent, was presented with the Key Club award for signing up five regular members.

Members approved local, state and national policies dealing with many agricultural issues. Sen. Darwin Booher and Reps. Phil Potvin and Joel Johnson were present to answer questions members had on legislative issues. Resolutions will be forwarded to Michigan Farm Bureau for consideration at their annual meeting held from Dec. 3 to Dec. 5 in Grand Rapids.

The following local farmers were elected to the board of directors: District 2 (Hartwick, Highland, Marion and Middle Branch Township) — Andy Salinas III; District 4 (Cedar, Hersey, Lincoln and Richmond Township) — Janet Schmidt; Directors at Large — Roxie Erler and Ray Gerber.