Osceola County Farm Bureau launches new year with annual meeting

EVART — The Osceola Country Farm Bureau hosted its annual meeting to discuss policy recommendations, present special honors and elect new board members on Monday, Sept. 26, at the Evart Free Methodist Church.

Following a free pork dinner provided by the Farm Bureau, Michigan Agriculture Council Program Coordinator Elaine Bristol spoke about the Michigan Grown/Michigan Great program and working with consumers. State Reps. Joel Johnson, R-Clare, and Phil Potvin, R-Cadillac, took time out of their schedules to attend the meeting, visiting with the members.

There were several policies discussed during the meeting, including: Michigan Agriculture Environmental Assurance Program verification, water quality, animal husbandry guidelines, Right to Farm, Mycobacterium Bovis Tuberculosis (TB), improving college courses in agriculture, MSU Extension and Ag Experiment Station, expand local ethanol and bio-diesel availability, revision to Michigan term limits, local government, improving efficiency in state government, repeal of the Land Division Act, landowner notification of new land survey, private property rights, bottle refunds, water use in Great Lakes Basin, wildlife management, anterless permit changes, transportation/farm plates, community recycling, farm equipment warning signs, recreational opportunities, local road millage, patriotism, attorney general visa program for immigrant workers, health care and health insurance, inclusion of entire dairy industry, pesticide regulations, sales, fuel and excise taxes for roads, role of federal government, equal access to national forest and national parks, privacy of agricultural data, and over dependence on imported energy sources and products.

During the meeting, Mary Beth Lindquist was recognized for her many years of service taking Ag in the Classroom to area schools. Morgan Cook and Talon Woods were recipients of two $500 college scholarships. Four Farm Bureau families — Larry and Iris Vanderhoef, Lee and Mary Hebner, Bruce and Gertrude Eisenga and Irene Truxton — were recognized for belonging to the organization for 45 years.

“We appreciate their dedicated service to local agriculture,” said Jess Erler, president of the Osceola County Farm Bureau.

Also at the meeting, Mark Norman, Scot Boyd, Jess Erler and Roxie Erler were reelected to serve on the board.

Summer Deline reported on the Promotion and Education Committee and the projects they held. Andy Salinas reported on the events young farmers in the county participated in. Deline also was appointed chairman of the delegates that will represent Osceola County at the 97th Michigan Farm Bureau State Annual Meeting.

Four generations of the Darwin Norman family were present at the annual meeting. They included Darwin, son, Mark Norman; daughter, Summer Deline; and granddaughter, Talon Woods.

Sue Gerber won a deluxe folding chair provided by Dan Lee, Farm Bureau Insurance agent in Reed City. Everyone received a Farm Bureau tote bag with frozen pork products.