New members join city council

Reed City council selects new mayor and mayor pro-tem

REED CITY — The Reed City city council welcomed new members Russell Nehmer and Bradley Nixon at its meeting last night.

“I am pleased to be on the board, and I look forward to working with all of you,” Nehmer said.

Nixon echoed those remarks, saying, “I am happy to be here and look forward to working with everyone.”

Nehmer and Nixon replace outgoing council members Carol Tillotson and Dave Scharlow, who did not run for re-election.

With four open seats, only two former council members, Dan Burchette and Roger Meinert, were on the ballot. Nehmer and Nixon ran as write-in candidates.

With this being the first meeting following the election, the city charter requires the council to select who would serve as Mayor and Mayor Pro-Tem for the next two years.

Council member Trevor Guiles nominated Meinert to serve as mayor. Council member Karen McKinney nominated Guiles to serve as Mayor Pro-Tem.

No other nominations were put forward for either position. By written vote, council members unanimously selected Meinert to serve as Mayor and Guiles to serve as Mayor Pro-Tem.

“I am very excited for the future of Reed City,” Meinert said. “We have a lot of exciting things going on and I look forward to working with all of you to continue moving forward.”

Also during the meeting, council member McKinney turned in a letter of resignation, effective Dec. 20. McKinney has served on the council for eight years and has two years remaining on her current term.

“It has been an honor and a pleasure to serve as a member of council and as mayor,” McKinney said in her letter. “I am sure the newly constituted council will serve the citizens to the best of their ability.”

Meinert said, “It is with great reluctance we must discuss and take action on the resignation of council member McKinney. Serving with you has been an honor and a pleasure.”

According to city attorney Dave Proteous, the council has 30 days from the effective date of the resignation to fill the seat. The mayor would be responsible for appointing someone to serve out the remainder of the term.

The council decided to establish a committee to review interested candidates for the seat. They will begin taking applications for anyone interested in serving immediately.


In related news, Evart Mayor John Joyce was defeated by candidate Chris Emerick. Emerick will officially take her seat on the council at 8 p.m. Nov. 16 and will preside over the next city council meeting Nov. 23.

In addition, outgoing council member Ralph Carlson will be replaced by newly elected member Sean Duffy.

At the county level, newly elected commissioner for 3rd District, David Turner, will replace outgoing Board of Commissioners chairman Jack Nehmer. Newly elected commissioner for the 7th District, Sally Momany, will replace outgoing commissioner Larry Emig.

Nehmer and Emig did not run for re-election.