Farm Bureau awards scholarships to local students

Seven recipients will be honored at annual meeting

OSCEOLA COUNTY — Seven local students recently earned $250 scholarships from the Osceola County Farm Bureau, in partnership with Greenstone Farm Credit Services.

“Osceola County Farm Bureau is proud to grant scholarships to further our young people’s educations and bring back that agricultural knowledge to our farm community,” said Rick Johnson, president of the Osceola County Farm Bureau.

Eligible scholarship applicants from county Farm Bureau member families are reviewed annually by the organization’s board of directors.

This year’s recipients:

• Owen Bontekoe is a recent graduate from McBain Public Schools attending Northwood University this fall to study sports management.

• Andrew Booher is a graduate of Evart High School now in his senior year studying agribusiness management at Michigan State University.

• Christian Booher graduated from Evart High School and is now a journalism sophomore at Central Michigan University.

• Teagan Cox graduated from Marion Public Schools and will now attend Central Michigan University to study environmental science.

• Anna Lindquist is a graduate of Pine River Area Schools now in her senior year studying animal science at Michigan State University.

• Daria Lindquist will soon start her pre-law studies at Michigan State University after having graduated from Pine River Area Schools.

• Tyler Lindquist graduated from Pine River Area Schools and will soon be studying linguistics at Michigan State University.

All recipients are invited to attend the Osceola County Farm Bureau’s 2020 annual meeting from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. Sept. 24 at the Osceola County Fairgrounds.

This year’s meeting will be a drive-through event to safely accommodate the organization’s annual policy development deliberations, board member elections and other business of import to the local agricultural community.

The Osceola County Farm Bureau is a non-profit organization supporting the interests and priorities of nearly 300 farmer members in Osceola and Lake counties.

For more information, visit or call 231-796-7697.